Fading Memory


Small town

Making it hard

To hide

To leave

Unfinished business

Far behind

Shoved away

Out of sight

And out of mind

Forced to face

Moments

From the past

Ghosts

Emotions

We choose

To ignore

In an attempt

To move on

In life’s

Infinite ways

To force us

To grow

And deal

With these

Vulnerabilities

Insecurities

And hurt

Eventually

The lesson

Is learned

In the time apart

My rose-colored glasses

Have been removed

No longer blinded

By my once

Great love for you

Now

It’s no longer

About disappearing

To move on

It’s about

Staying right here

Where

I have always belonged

Now as I grow

Becoming my best me

You become a faded face

In the background

Fitting

Like a fading memory

Leave a Reply

