Build You Up


I gave you my love

My heart

My soul

In return I was crushed

Shattered

Pushed aside

~~~~~~~~~~~~

It has taken me  Several years

To let go of the pain

That wedge

The one that sat

In the final crack Of my heart

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I used to say I had forgiven

That I had moved on

Reality is I hadn’t

I kept in touch

Claiming curiosity

When all I wanted was for you to feel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Feel what it was like

To be brought to the sun

To have a taste of bliss

Then left in the pits of agony

Your spirit broken

Dreams destroyed

Trusting no more

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Slowly pull out of this grave

To have hope

Build you back up with a ray of sun

As you feel just one last pull

To find yourself free

Then a stomp on the wedge

That reshatters everything

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A million shards of glass

Glitters along the floor

I will build you up no more

With this tragedy I am done

I will finally let it go

And be my own sun

One thought on “Build You Up

  1. Jingle says:

    letting go at last, well done piece…

    if you wish to be in poets rally, visit me, and find the link under my post…

Leave a Reply

